Board of Directors

Board of Directors

The Marshall Hospital Corporation was founded in 1956 and continues to operate as a nonprofit, public benefit corporation. Marshall is organized without any intention of pecuniary gain to any person, persons or corporation. Marshall uses its funds for upgrading programs, purchasing new equipment and developing medical services that provide for the healthcare needs of the community.

The Marshall Medical Center Board of Directors is a volunteer group of community members who provide their time and experience to set policies, maintain Marshall’s financial stability and make decisions that affect the future of the organization.

John Driscoll

John Driscoll, Chair

A Marshall Foundation for Community Health Board member since 2005, John became Marshall Board of Directors Chair in 2017. The former Placerville City Attorney and City Manager/Attorney has provided years of financial and strategic planning advice for Marshall Medical Center. His wife Pam is a teacher in Placerville.

Gabrielle Marchini

Gabrielle Marchini, Secretary/Treasurer

As an advocate for children, Gabrielle has served in El Dorado County for 29 years as a teacher, a principal, an Assistant Superintendent, and currently as the Director of Curriculum, Instruction, and Accountability at the El Dorado County Office of Education.

Bradley Barnhill

Bradley Barnhill, MD, Chief of Staff

Dr. Barnhill is a board certified internal medicine physician who returned to his Chief of Staff post on Jan. 1, 2017. He serves as a hospitalist physician at Marshall Hospital. A former staffer at Marshall Family & Internal Medicine, he is married with two daughters.

Jim Abercrombie

Jim Abercrombie, Board Member

The general manager of El Dorado Irrigation District, Jim is also a 30-year resident of El Dorado County. A registered engineer, he also managed PG&E's El Dorado County gas and electric distribution business unit from 1987 to 1998.

Pete Barba

Pete Barba, MD, Board Member

Dr. Barba (pronounced Bahr-BAY) is a board certified family medicine practitioner at Marshall Sierra Primary Medicine. He takes pride in promoting exercise and a healthy diet. Before joining Marshall, he served as chief resident at Swedish Family Medicine in Colorado.

Tom Chandler

Tom Chandler, Board Member

The owner of Inter-County Title Company, Tom has been a Placerville resident since 1970. He served ten years on the Marshall Foundation for Community Health’s Board of Trustees, in addition to ten years on the California Land Title Association’s Board of Governors.

Richard Detwiler

Richard Detwiler, MD, Board Member

Dr. Detwiler, MD is a board certified general surgeon for Marshall General Surgery. He began practicing in El Dorado County in 1989 and joined Marshall in 2012. The American College of Surgeons fellow has also served as Marshall Medical Center’s Chief of Surgery.

Jon Haugaard, Board Member

Jon is a Certified Public Accountant and has over 30 years of experience in accounting and auditing, primarily with financial institutions. He has been the Director of Audit for El Dorado Savings Bank since 2003. Jon and his wife Donna have been residents of Diamond Springs for eleven years.

Stanley Henjum

Stanley Henjum, MD, Board Member

Dr. Henjum is a board certified cardiologist with Marshall Cardiology. A former Lieutenant Commander in the United States Navy, Dr. Henjum provides general cardiology care including diagnostic cardiac catheterizations. He is a former Marshall Chief of Staff.

George Neilsen

George Neilsen, Board Member

George Neilsen is a longtime Placerville resident. He served as the Placerville’s Chief of Police from 2004-2013, and had nearly 30 years of service with the force upon retirement. He has served many local organizations, including as Marshall Foundation for Community Health Board of Trustees president.

Harry Norris

Harry Norris, Board Member

Now retired, Harry stays active on local volunteer and elected boards after nearly 30 years of El Dorado County residence and business ownership. He was a 10-year member of the El Dorado County School Board, as well as a founding member of the El Dorado Hills Chamber of Commerce.

Christeen Reeg

Christeen Reeg, Board Member

Christeen has more than three decades of professional experience in the area of investment planning. She is past chair of the Los Rios Community College Foundation, served as a Board Member of Snowline Hospice, is currently Chair of the Planned Giving Committee for the El Dorado Community Foundation and is a member of the Assistance League of Sacramento’s Advisory Council.

Sue Rees, Board Member

Sue Rees moved to El Dorado county in 1995 from Southern California. She opened Kelsey’s Needle Krafts in 2001 after retiring from the California DMV. She has worked diligently to make Placerville the best it can be by serving on the Placerville Downtown Association board, taking part in the Downtown Parking commission, and heading up the Needle Arts display at the El Dorado County Fair.

Wendy Thomas

Wendy Thomas, Board Member

Wendy’s diverse background includes real estate development, small business ownership and politics. She is the descendent of a pioneer family that settled in Placerville in 1850. Wendy is a former Placerville vice mayor and has been on the Placerville City Council since 2010.