2017 Board of Directors

The Marshall Hospital Corporation was founded in 1956 and continues to operate as a nonprofit, public benefit corporation. Marshall is organized without any intention of pecuniary gain to any person, persons or corporation. Marshall uses its funds for upgrading programs, purchasing new equipment and developing medical services that provide for the healthcare needs of the community.

The Marshall Medical Center Board of Directors is a volunteer group of community members who provide their time and experience to set policies, maintain Marshall’s financial stability and make decisions that affect the future of the organization.  

John Driscoll, Chair
A Marshall Foundation for Community Health Board member since 2005, John became Marshall Board of Directors Chair in 2017. The former Placerville City Attorney and City Manager/Attorney has provided years of financial and strategic planning advice for Marshall Medical Center. His wife Pam is a teacher in Placerville.
Jayne Moore, Vice Chair
Jayne has lived in El Dorado County since 1961 and graduated from El Dorado High School (like her three children). A former Board of Directors Chair, Jayne has compiled over 35 years El Dorado Savings Bank and is currently a senior Vice President/Branch Administrator there.

Gabrielle Marchini, Secretary/Treasurer
An advocate for children, Gabrielle has served in the Buckeye Union School District for 20 years as a teacher, a principal, and in her current role as Assistant Superintendent with oversight of curriculum, instruction, and technology.  

  Bradley Barnhill, MD, Chief of Staff
Dr. Barnhill is a board certified internal medicine physician who has practiced in El Dorado County since 1991. He returned to his Chief of Staff post on Jan. 1, 2017. A staff physician at Marshall Family & Internal Medicine, he is married with two daughters.
  Jim Abercrombie, Board Member
The general manager of El Dorado Irrigation District, Jim is also a 30-year resident of El Dorado County. A registered engineer, he also managed PG&E's 
El Dorado County gas and electric distribution business unit from 1987 to 1998. 
Pete Barba, MD, Board Member
Dr. Barba (pronounced Bahr-BAY) is a board certified family medicine practitioner at Marshall Sierra Primary Medicine. He takes pride in promoting exercise and a healthy diet. Before joining Marshall, he served as chief resident at Swedish Family Medicine in Colorado. 

  Tom Chandler, Board Member
The owner of Inter-County Title Company, Tom has been a Placerville resident since 1970. He served ten years on the Marshall Foundation for Community Health’s Board of Trustees, in addition to ten years on the California Land Title Association’s Board of Governors. 

  Richard Detwiler, MD, Board Member
Dr. Detwiler, MD is a board certified general surgeon for Marshall General Surgery. He began practicing in El Dorado County in 1989 and joined Marshall in 2012. The American College of Surgeons fellow has also served as Marshall Medical Center’s Chief of Surgery.  

  Bruce Dickson, Board Member
A respected financial planner and charitable giver, Bruce is a former Marshall Foundation for Community Health Board of Trustees president (2000-2004). He is a member of the Financial Planning Association and the Financial Services Institute, and a Sierra Wildlife Rescue lifetime member.
Beth Goodlin-Jones, Ph.D, Board Member
Dr. Goodlin-Jones is an accomplished clinical developmental psychologist. She serves clinical research coordinator for UC Davis Health’s MIND Institute and is an active member of the clinical diagnostic assessment teams. She also owns Lava Cap Winery in Camino.

Stanley Henjum, MD, Board Member 
Dr. Henjum is a board certified cardiologist with Marshall Cardiology. A former Lieutenant Commander in the United States Navy, Dr. Henjum provides general cardiology care including diagnostic cardiac catheterizations. He is a former Marshall Chief of Staff.

George Neilsen, Board Member
George Neilsen is a longtime Placerville resident. He served as the Placerville’s Chief of Police from 2004-2013, and had nearly 30 years of service with the force upon retirement. He has served many local organizations, including as Marshall Foundation for Community Health Board of Trustees president. 

  Harry Norris, Board Member
Now retired, Harry stays active on local volunteer and elected boards after nearly 30 years of El Dorado County residence and business ownership. He was a 10-year member of the El Dorado County School Board, as well as a founding member of the El Dorado Hills Chamber of Commerce.


George Nielsen, Board Member
George Nielsen is a long-time Placerville resident. He served as the Placerville Police Chief from 2004-2013, and had nearly 30 years of service with the police at his retirement. He has served on the boards of many local organizations, including as President of the Board of Trustees for Marshall Foundation. 
  Christeen Reeg, Board Member
The Board of Directors’ newest member, Christeen chairs the Planned Giving Committee for the El Dorado Community Foundation. Passionate about serving her community, the former Los Rios Community College Foundation chair also served as Snowline Hospice board member.
  Wendy Thomas, Board Member
Wendy’s diverse background includes real estate development, small business ownership and politics. She is the descendent of a pioneer family that settled in Placerville in 1850. Wendy is a former Placerville vice mayor and has been on the Placerville City Council since 2010. 
  Dale van Dam, Board Member
Dean of Instruction at Folsom Lake College’s El Dorado Center, Dale is a registered professional geologist in five western states. He has over 20 years of experience as an environmental geologist and hydrologist. Dale is a board member of the Placerville Kiwanis Club and Snowline Hospice.