Open Accessibility Menu

HONOR-A-NURSE to Celebrate Nursing Scholarships

The 12th annual Honor-A-Nurse celebration sponsored by UNION BANK will recognize Excellence in Nursing on September 21st in the South Wing Lobby at Marshall Hospital. Last year the event recognized 52 nurses for their exceptional care and compassion.

It’s not too late to recognize the nurse of your choice by donating $100 to Marshall Foundation through their website at In 2017, six Marshall Employees in the nursing services received over $20,000 to assist them in their journey toward excellence. This year’s Major Sponsors include:

Executive Sponsor

Union Bank

The Clara Barton Sponsors

Mr. and Mrs. Paul Harlow
Shannon Truesdell, RN

The Good Samaritan Sponsors

Dr. and Mrs. Necati Uygur Tekin
Dr. and Mrs. Bradley Barnhill
Gold Country Retirement Center
Mr. and Mrs. Alan Eldridge

For the first time, they will be presenting the nursing scholarship recipients with the scholarship award during the Honor A Nurse celebration. The recipients have been selected by the Nursing Scholarship committee which acts separately from the Honor A Nurse committee. You will have the opportunity to learn the impact these awards have on the recipients.

“A special thank you is extended to all of our very generous sponsors. Last year we increased our proceeds by 8.7%, over $23,000 to continue the vision that both Dr. John Mathewson and my dad, Dr. Quentin Bonser, had so many years ago,” related Patty Sanford, RN, event chair. “Over the past 26 years we have provided over $251,900 in scholarships and made a difference in the lives of 153 nurses at Marshall. Loie Bonser and Mona Mathewson try to attend the event each year in memory of their spouses to continue the tradition of helping nurses accomplish their dreams. “Supporting the Mathewson-Bonser Nursing Scholarships is a fun way to see all the nurses honored,” said Mona Mathewson.

Contributions to the scholarship fund are accepted all year long. For further information, contact Linda Spafford or Tanya Moran in the Foundation office, 530-642-9984.